Isn’t it great to be inspired by others?

Here I go!

Recently I came across a Twitter Exercise Motivation Team (#temt) through my Professional Learning Network (PLN) on Twitter.  See?  We just don’t tweet about what we had for lunch.  This #temt has pushed me to another limit. It has allowed me further reflection about how I need to be pushed into exercise.  Being involved in this is a way to keep at my goal of running, through the inspiration and motivation from other like-minded people on Twitter.  So I’m sharing my blogpost that I posted on the Team Sharing Site.  If you’d like to go check out the posts of others (since I’ve referred to many in my post), they can be accessed through the link following my post:

I have finally taken the time to sit and read through everyone’s thoughts! And there are so many things that have caused me to reflect even further… time for a post.

I love how Joan started this Team Blog as a way to reflect on living a healthier life. By reading everyone’s posts, it really makes me think about the health of your body, mind and soul and how related those facets really are. That’s what this is all about. It was great to read about (and visualize) Anna’s run along the gorgeous scenery in Greece and also Kathy’s walk with Angels at the cemetery – both very moving places to run and reflect on the goodness of each day.

What really made me think was Dean’s question – What does it take? And the first thing that came to my mind about what it really takes to get me to keep at running is to “not compare myself with others”. I’ve always wanted to be a runner. But I made the mistake of starting out, comparing myself to avid runners, and then giving up because I wasn’t “perfect” (gasp!). I started a handful of times, compared my measly run to the 10K of others and then went back to just power-walking and yoga. I did this over and over. Until March. I started running again, but this time, I shared my struggles with a friend who is an avid runner. When I asked him how he can run and not compare himself to others he gave me the best advice. He said, “I run my own race.” It made me think about doing what was right for me. So I started again. And I started keeping track of MY running each day. I ignored the people running by me. I didn’t look at the runners that I crossed paths with. I learned to shut out the rest of the world when I run. I focus on ME. I taught myself how to run my own race.

Running for me is about my mental health. I feel better when I run. I sleep better when I run. It’s about getting lost in my music and emptying my brain of all the nonsense that tries to creep in at times (my brothers call me Analyti-Kel). There was a picture in one of the posts with this quote – “Sometimes the most important thing in a whole day is the rest we take between 2 deep breaths.” That is so true to me. If you focus on your breathing, I mean REALLY focus, it brings you a step closer to awareness. I’ve tried to practice that in my runs. I’m not perfect, but I’m learning.

I loved the video that Shelley posted about “Running and Reading” – Will talked about that “voice that talks to you when you are running” – but he referred more to the voice that nags about how tired you are and how you need to defeat that little voice. I like to listen to the other voice that seems to talk to me through my music on my run. The little voice in my head (through my music) gives me inspiration, the voice that says I’m doing my best, the voice that tells me to keep going! When I’m listening to my music, on my run, it truly lifts my soul!

I’ve decided to print the Star Wordle and put it on my bedroom mirror. I’ve also decided that it’s time I buy that fancy Nike shoe thing to help me keep motivated and track my progress. Those are my goals for now!

Thank you Joan, for bringing us together. I feel that this sharing will be an inspiration to me. I want you guys in #temt to call me on it every day! I look forward to the tweets: “Kelly have you run yet today?” Because I know myself. I need to be pushed.

http://twitterexercisemotivationteam.blogspot.com/2010/07/isnt-it-great-to-be-inspired-by-others.html

About Kelly-Ann Power

Windsor-Essex Catholic District School Board Vice-Principal View all posts by Kelly-Ann Power

10 responses to “Isn’t it great to be inspired by others?

  • Joan Young

    Thank you so much Kelly for a beautiful post about how we are helping each other to be our own “best”. I also fall victim to the comparison syndrome: I am, by no means, what I would ever call an “avid runner” though I have many times tried to get completely into it! I have short legs and I am pretty glad I have never seen videos or photos of myself running but I am so glad that I am back at it!
    Because of everyone on the #temt team’s support, I can run farther, stay enthusiastic and get myself out there on days I feel like being lazy. I am really looking forward to how this helps us all during the school year when I often get distracted by all of the work!
    Thanks so much Kelly 🙂 I’m so glad to know you and maybe, someday, we’ll meet up at a conference and go for a nice run together!

    • Kelly Power

      Thanks Joan. You are so right about when school comes around again. It will be very easy to get sucked right back into our working world and let our personal lives slide. I will keep at it if you do! And I also look forward to the day when we will bump into each other face to face!

  • April

    Thanks Kelly for that great post. Like you I’m always comparing myself to others, either professionally or personally. I’m working past this and doing my own thing. I’m not a runner, although I have tried it but my back doesn’t enjoy it. Walking is what I’ve been doing. I’m also thankful to Joan for starting up the #temt. Yesterday, I watched on Twitter how some of you worked out or ran or did something else. I took my dogs for about a 45 minute walk, they’re dachshunds and can’t really go very fast, so it was a bit of a stroll. I knew I needed to get back out and do my faster pace walk but it never got done.

    However, today, I immediately got up, had my coffee and walked before my Elluminate session today. I was motivated by all of you doing something yesterday and the two 100 calorie chocolate bars I ate instead of walking. 😦 I’m so thankful for the #temt and the people involved. All of you are a great motivator. When I see that you’ve all done something it’s a reminder that I need to get out and take sometime to clear my head, focus on me and what my body needs.

    Thanks again.
    April

    • Kelly Power

      Thank you April. Keep reading the tweets each day, but better yet, let them guide you! You are the only one who knows what you are capable of. A stroll is better than nothing, so don’t discount that – do what works for you! We’ll keep at it together!

  • Justine

    I enjoyed your post. I liked the quote from your friend that “I run my own race.” I haven’t been running lately because my summer job has kept me quite active. I do need to get back to running though. I found so many benefits to it. I slept better and just felt better overall. I need to get back to it.

    • Kelly Power

      Thank you Justine. Those 5 words (I run my own race) have really worked for me as I see others running when I’m out. I always admire how effortless it looks for some other people and as a result, I still will not run with any of my friends who run, so that I don’t slip into comparing myself again. I encourage you to get back at it – just start small with something that will fit into your schedule. Go for it.

  • David

    Joan,

    Keep on going – you can do a lot if you don’t know you can’t!

    The wisest words about running I ever got were from Ed Whitlock (he ran a 2:54 marathon at the age of 74). He said, “the hardest part of any workout is putting on your shoes – after that it is a piece of cake”.

    You’d enjoy the writing of George Sheehan. I’ve referenced his stuff a lot over the years. In talks, on my wall, reading in the bathroom… had the honor of running with him… http://www.georgesheehan.com/essays/ He will definitely inspire!

    David D

    • Kelly Power

      David, thank you for sharing the site and the great quote with me. I’m always looking for more inspiration! There are many essays that I’ll definitely take a look at.
      Kelly

  • Terry

    I enjoyed reading your reflective post Kelly – thanks for sharing your story. Yes indeed – ‘it is great to be inspired by others’ and not only do your thoughts and shared experience do just that (inspire others), they also serve to forge new connections. I think I will go for a run now…

Leave a Reply

